Receive news, updates and special deals by Joining AOA's Online Newsletter. Click now to sign up!

Archive for March, 2020

Legal Q & A- By Franco Simone

Posted on 01. Mar, 2020 by .

0

Q: I am renting out an apartment unit. One of the applicants was arrested for assault last month but has not been convicted of the crime. I do not feel comfortable renting to someone who was arrested for assault.  Can I deny his application based on his arrest?  A: No, you may not deny a […]

Continue Reading

Legal Q & A- By Dennis Block

Posted on 01. Mar, 2020 by .

0

Question One: I am planning on leasing my single family residence. My property is located in San Diego. Am I under any restrictions with regard to the new statewide rent control law, AB 1482? Answer One: A single family residence is exempt from restrictions pursuant to AB 1482. You are free to raise the rent […]

Continue Reading

Legal Q & A by – Franco Simone, Esq.

Posted on 01. Feb, 2020 by .

0

Q:  I have tenants who have not paid rent and are claiming they have bed bugs. Can I give them a three-day notice to pay rent or quit before I inspect the unit?   A: No, you should not give a three-day notice to pay rent or quit until the bed bug inspection is completed and […]

Continue Reading

Legal Q & A by – Dennis Block

Posted on 01. Jan, 2020 by .

0

Question One: I have a 20 unit building in the City of San Fernando. There was a death in one of the units. I know under California law I must disclose the death to prospective tenants. Do I have to disclose this information to applicants when leasing other units in the complex?

Continue Reading

Legal Q & A by – Franco Simone

Posted on 01. Jan, 2020 by .

0

  Q: I would like to completely prohibit smoking inside my apartment units, but allow smoking in common areas.  Am I allowed to restrict some areas, but not others?

Continue Reading

Legal Q & A by – Dennis Block

Posted on 01. Dec, 2019 by .

0

With the passage of the Statewide Rent Control, I have been receiving a deluge of questions regarding this statute. This month, the column will be devoted to the most popular questions that I have received regarding this topic.

Continue Reading

Legal Q & A by – Richard Beckman

Posted on 01. Dec, 2019 by .

0

Question 1: In addition to the new statewide rent and eviction control law you wrote about last month, are there any other new laws coming up we should know about? Answer 1: Yes, there are several. One pertains to the amount of notice that will be required to impose a rent increase exceeding 10%. One […]

Continue Reading

Legal Q & A By-Franco Simone

Posted on 01. Dec, 2019 by .

0

Q: I own a six unit apartment building in San Diego County that was built in the 1980s and I would like to remodel the units next year. Am I allowed to ask my tenants to vacate under the new Tenant Protection Act of 2019?

Continue Reading

Legal Q & A By – Franco Simone

Posted on 01. Nov, 2019 by .

0

Q: I own a rental property in San Diego where there is currently no rent control and my tenant’s rent is $1,200.  I want to raise the rent to $1,500. Can I raise my tenant’s rent by 25%?

Continue Reading

Legal Q & A by – Richard Beckman

Posted on 01. Nov, 2019 by .

0

Question: Did the new statewide rent control law I’ve been hearing about take effect? Answer: AB 1482 – the Tenant Protection Act of 2019 – has been passed by the California legislature and is in front of Governor Newsom for his anticipated signature. Absent his veto, which is by all accounts extremely unlikely, AB 1482 […]

Continue Reading

Legal Q & A By – Franco Simone, Esq.

Posted on 01. Oct, 2019 by .

0

Q: This is my first time renting out my residential unit. The late fee provision in my lease allows me to charge a percentage of the rent or a flat fee. How much can I charge for the late fee? A: Your late fee should be no more than 6% of the monthly rent. For […]

Continue Reading